The Masters Tournament is held each spring in Augusta Georgia, and is famous for awarding the Green Jacket to the winner. Many famous golfers have won the jacket over the years, including Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan, Tiger Woods, and Arnold Palmer. What is this tournament all about?

The Masters was first held in 1934, at the Augusta National Golf Club. The course had just been designed by There Jones and Alistair MacKenzie and built by Bobby Jones (who never won a Masters). This event was a showcase for the course. The course has been modified over the years, changing the length of various fairways to tweak gameplay. This club is the only place the Masters has ever been held.

Golfers can only get into the Masters by meeting one of 17 requirements, or by special invitation. Very few are ever invited, so usually players know if they meet a requirement.

Green Jackets first were given to the winner in 1949, with Sam Snead being the first recipient.

List of the 17 Requirements

Recent Masters Winners

2003 Mike Weir
2002 Tiger Woods
2001 Tiger Woods
2000 Vijay Singh
1999 Jose Maria Olazabal
1998 Mark O´Meara
1997 Tiger Woods
1996 Nick Faldo
1995 Ben Crenshaw
1994 Jose Maria Olazabal
1993 Bernhard Langer
1992 Fred Couples
1991 Ian Woosnam
1990 Nick Faldo

Lisa's Golfing Information

Note: All of this content was originally ghost-written for If you find this content on, that is why. If you find this content anywhere else on the web, please let me know! Its home is here :)