Urban Legends and Hoaxes:
The Sulfnbk.exe Hoax

A very common email message is going around telling people to delete Sulfnbk.exe out of Windows. This is a REAL Windows file!! This file is used to restore long file names if somehow your filenames get corrupted. It is NOT a virus file.

The hoax message that tends to go around looks like this, although there are several versions of it.




Dear All: We received a virus on a message. I followed the instructions below and found that it had been spread to our computer. I followed the instructions and located the virus and was able to delete it. The bad news is that you probably have it, as you are in My Address book! More bad news is that my anti virus program did not detect this virus. The virus lies dormant for 14 days and then "kills" your hard drive.

Here is what to do. If you follow the instructions and then see that you have the virus, you need to send a similar e-mail to everyone in your address book.

Remove the virus by following these steps:
1. Go to "Start." Then to "Find" or "Search".
2. In the "Search for files or folders" type sulfnbk.exe -- this is the name of the virus.
3. In the "Look in" section, make sure you are searching Drive C.
4. Hit "Search" or "Find".
5. If your search finds this file, it will be an ugly blackish icon that will have the name sulfnbk.exe. DO NOT OPEN IT! If it does not show up on your first "Search", try a "New Search."
6. Right click on the file -- go down to "Delete" and left click.
7. You will be asked if you want to send the file to the Recycling Bin -- say "Yes".
8. Go to your Desktop (where all your icons are) and right click on the Recycle Bin and either manually delete the sulfnbk.exe program or empty
the entire bin.
9. If you found the virus on your system, send this or a similar e-mail to all in your address book because this is how it is transferred.

Sorry for the trouble and my apologies for having unwittingly "infected" you. YouŽll want to check for this virus again for the next couple days
until everyone in your address book has seen it and deleted it, otherwise, being in their address book, your PC will get infected all
over again so donŽt forget to check!





For more details on this hoax, and for information on restoring your sulfnbk.exe if youŽve already deleted it, check here -

Symantec Site

Again do NOT do this! This is a HOAX!!

Urban Legends and Hoaxes Page

Lisa Shea Homepage