Free Astrology Course - Elemental Groups

Once you understand the basic signs, it's time to see how they relate to each other and fall into groups or categories.

First, there are four elemental groups that signs fall into - the fire signs, the earth signs, the air signs and the water signs. Starting with Aries, each subsequent sign is from the next group in order, then it starts again with fire.

Fire Signs
Fire is creative and helpful, and fire is also destructive. The signs associated with fire are full of passion and energy. They love change and creativity. They don't mind starting anew if it means things can be better and different.

Aries (March 21 - April 19)
Leo (July 23 - August 22)
Saggitarius (November 22 - December 21)

Earth Signs
Earth is solid beneath our feet, long lasting in the mountains. The signs associated with earth are sturdy and responsible, true friends that are always there for you. They love traditions and trust.

Taurus (April 20 - May 20)
Virgo (August 23 - September 22)
Capricorn (December 22 - January 19)

Air Signs
Air is what keeps us alive, what we dream about soaring up into. The signs associated with air love knowledge and information. They love helping others learn and developing new ideas. They are always interested in learning new tasks and hobbies.

Gemini (May 21 - June 20)
Libra (September 23 - October 22)
Aquarius (January 20 - February 18)

Water Signs
Water is controlled by the tides, full of mysterious depths. The signs associated with water are emotional, love to study their dreams and the less understood aspects of our world.

Cancer (June 21 - July 22)
Scorpio (October 23 - November 21)
Pisces (February 19 - March 20)

Homework: Look at the description of each sign in a given elemental group, and see how it matches that element's characteristics.

Free Astrology Course

Astrology Basics Main Page